MUNCIE FIRE MERIT COMMISSION MAY 11, 2023 REGULAR MONTHLY MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order & Members Present

The May 11, 2023 regular monthly meeting of the Muncie Fire Merit Commission was called to order by President Andrew Dale at 6:00 PM. Members present included Andrew Dale, President, Linda Gray, Vice President, Qiana Clemens, Commissioner and Andrew Popp, Commissioner with Commissioner Jim Mochal absent.

Approval of April 13, 2023 Regular Meeting Minutes

Having no corrections or additions to make minutes of the Muncie Fire Merit Commission's April 13, 2023 regular meeting were approved by all Commissioners (moved by Commissioner Popp and seconded by Commissioner Gray)

Moment of Silence

Condolences were shared and a moment of silence was called by Commissioner Dale and observed to reflect on the passing of both Alex Mead and Kurt Matthews

Business from Fire Chief via Deputy Chief Burford

Deputy Chief Burford shared a number of certificates of completion by Muncie Fire Fighters and EMS personnel.

Due to the retirement of Lieutenant Mark Hill Sergeant Nick Parrott was promoted to Lieutenant by approval by all commissioners present (moved by Commissioner Popp and seconded by Commissioner Gray).

In addition, due to the promotion of Sargent Nick Parrott to Lieutenant Bryan Cook was promoted to Sergeant by approval of all commissioner members present (moved by Commissioner Popp and Seconded by Commissioner Gray)

From the Floor

President Dale invited anyone in attendance to share comments with the Commission. Lieutenant Jason Chafin apprised the Commission that he remains interested in the Commission's consideration of amendments to certain Muncie Fire Merit Commission rules and procedures. President Dale welcomed the opportunity to meet within the present month and stated that both he (President Dale) and Vice President Linda Gray will be make contact soon to meet.

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Gray at approximately 6:20 PM and seconded by Commissioner Clemens which all commissioners present approved.

Meeting minutes provided by President Andrew Dale in absence of both Commissioner/Secretary Jim Mochal and Ms. Riley